Apple did not announce a standard iPhone 18 on 9 September 2026. It announced the iPhone 18 Pro, the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the foldable iPhone Duo, and held the non-Pro phone back. The reporting places the iPhone 18 in spring 2027, alongside an iPhone 18e and a second iPhone Air. There is no confirmed date, no confirmed price and no confirmed specification. What follows is what has actually been reported, who reported it, and what it means if you are trying to decide between waiting, buying an iPhone 17 or paying for an iPhone 18 Pro.
Last updated 13 September 2026. Nothing on this page about the iPhone 18 is confirmed by Apple, because Apple has not acknowledged that the phone exists. Every forward-looking claim below is attributed to the outlet that made it and listed in the Sources section. Prices for phones you can buy today are taken from Apple's UK store and our own live comparison data, both checked on 13 September 2026. Where we have done arithmetic rather than reporting, we say so in the table.
When is the iPhone 18 out?
| Milestone | Date | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max announced | Wednesday 9 September 2026 | Confirmed. It happened, and no iPhone 18 was shown |
| iPhone 18 Pro on sale in the UK | Friday 18 September 2026 | Confirmed by Apple. Pre-orders already open |
| iPhone Duo on sale in the UK | Friday 23 October 2026 | Confirmed by Apple |
| Standard iPhone 18 announced | No date from Apple | Apple has said nothing at all about this phone |
| iPhone 18 launch window | Spring 2027 | Reported. Bloomberg, reached via MacRumors and 9to5Mac. Not confirmed |
| iPhone 18e and iPhone Air 2 | Same spring 2027 launch | Reported, same sourcing |
| Most likely months | Late February to March 2027 | Our inference from Apple's last spring iPhone, not reporting |
| UK pre-order date and price | Unknown | Nothing has leaked |
The important thing to understand is that this is a deliberate split, not a delay. Apple has moved its cheaper iPhones to a separate spring launch, so from now on September belongs to the Pro models and the foldable. MacRumors' release schedule guide, published on 31 August 2026, put it plainly: Apple is holding the standard iPhone 18 until spring 2027. Its iPhone 18e roundup credits Mark Gurman at Bloomberg with the spring timeline across all three spring phones, and 9to5Mac reported the same grouping in June 2026 when Bloomberg described the iPhone Air 2.
Nobody has reported an actual date. Our own read of "spring" is late February to March, because Apple's most recent spring iPhone, the 17e, was announced on 2 March 2026 and reached UK shops on 11 March 2026. That is a pattern of one, so treat it as a working assumption rather than a forecast. In practical terms, if you are reading this in September 2026, the wait is somewhere between five and nine months.
How much will the iPhone 18 cost in the UK?
No UK price for the iPhone 18 has leaked, and we are not going to make one up. What we can do is show you what Apple charges for the phones that already exist, because the iPhone 18's price will be set against them.
This part is fact. Apple has quietly put £100 on every continuing iPhone in the UK since launch, and the iPhone 18 Pro arrived £100 above the iPhone 17 Pro.
| Model | Apple UK price today, 256GB | Launch price | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 17e | £699 | Released 11 March 2026 | Not compared, different generation |
| iPhone 17 | £899 | £799, September 2025 | Up £100 |
| iPhone Air | £1,099 | £999, September 2025 | Up £100 |
| iPhone 18 Pro | £1,199 | iPhone 17 Pro was £1,099 | Up £100 generation on generation |
We have not found any Apple statement explaining the rise on the iPhone 17 and iPhone Air, so we are not going to guess at the reason. It matters here only because it moves the starting point. If you assume the iPhone 18 slots in where the iPhone 17 sits now, the entry price is £899, not the £799 the iPhone 17 launched at.
The table below is our arithmetic, not a leak. It takes Apple's current UK tier structure for the iPhone 17, a £200 step from 256GB to 512GB, and applies three plausible outcomes.
| Scenario | 256GB | 512GB | What it assumes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flat on today's shelf price | £899 | £1,099 | Apple holds the iPhone 17's current UK price. Our best guess |
| Back to the 2025 launch price | £799 | £999 | The £100 rise was a mid-life adjustment, not a new floor |
| Another £100 | £999 | £1,199 | Component costs keep climbing, as they did for the Pro |
The third row is the one we would bet against. A 512GB non-Pro iPhone at £1,199 would cost exactly the same as a 256GB iPhone 18 Pro, which is the sort of collision Apple usually designs out of its price list. Everything in that table is inference. If a genuine price leaks we will replace it.
What is expected to change
All of this is reporting. None of it is confirmed, and some of it rests on a single source.
The A20 chip
MacRumors' iPhone 18 roundup expects a plain A20 built on a 2-nanometre process, the non-Pro sibling of the A20 Pro that Apple has confirmed for the iPhone 18 Pro. The gain described is the usual one: more performance for the same power, and therefore better battery life rather than a different phone. Memory is the open question and the two analysts who have spoken do not agree. Ming-Chi Kuo has suggested 9GB, which he argues is short of what some Apple Intelligence features want, while Jeff Pu has predicted 12GB. Both figures come to us through MacRumors. Nobody has an answer.
The display
A 6.3-inch screen is expected, the same size as the iPhone 17. This is where it is worth being honest about how little room there is to improve. The iPhone 17 already has ProMotion with adaptive refresh up to 120Hz, an always-on display, 3,000 nits of peak outdoor brightness and Ceramic Shield 2 on the front, all from Apple's own published specification. There are rumours of higher brightness on the iPhone 18, and simultaneously rumours of cost-cutting that would push display quality the other way. We would not plan a purchase around the screen.
Cameras
The one change with reasonable weight behind it is the front camera, reported to move from the iPhone 17's 18MP Center Stage unit to 24MP. That is a genuine upgrade if you take a lot of selfies or shoot vertical video. For the rear, we have seen no credible reporting of a change to the iPhone 17's 48MP dual Fusion system, so assume two cameras and no telephoto until somebody reports otherwise. Camera Control is reported to be simplified to pressure sensing only, dropping the capacitive layer, which reads as a cost reduction rather than a feature.
The Dynamic Island
Apple has confirmed a smaller Dynamic Island on the iPhone 18 Pro, which can now show three Live Activities side by side. Whether that shrinks across the whole line is a claim from the leaker Ice Universe and, as far as we can tell, from nobody else. Most other reporting has restricted the change to the Pro models. Treat it as the weakest item on this page.
Modem and connectivity
The iPhone 18 is reported to use Apple's own C2 modem, as the iPhone 18 Pro does, with Qualcomm parts possibly staying in some regions. For a UK buyer this is invisible in daily use. It matters to Apple's margins, not to your signal.
iPhone 18 vs iPhone 18 Pro
One of these phones is real. The iPhone 18 Pro goes on sale in the UK on Friday 18 September 2026 from £1,199, and everything in its column below is Apple's own published specification. The iPhone 18 column is reporting and inference, and is marked as such.
| iPhone 18 Pro (confirmed) | iPhone 18 (reported, unconfirmed) | |
|---|---|---|
| Status | On sale 18 September 2026 | Not announced. Reported for spring 2027 |
| UK price from | £1,199 | No price reported. Our arithmetic says around £899 |
| Chip | A20 Pro, 6-core CPU with 2 super cores and 4 efficiency cores | A20, reported at 2nm |
| Display | 6.3in OLED, 2622 x 1206, 460ppi, 3,000 nits peak | 6.3in expected, no change of size reported |
| Rear cameras | 48MP main with variable aperture f/1.48 to f/4.0, 48MP 4x telephoto f/2.8, 48MP ultra wide f/2.2 | Two cameras expected, no telephoto, no variable aperture |
| Front camera | 18MP Center Stage, f/1.9 | 24MP reported |
| Video playback | Up to 34 hours | Not reported |
| Storage | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | Not reported. iPhone 17 offers 256GB and 512GB |
| Build | Aluminium unibody, Ceramic Shield 2 front and back, 150.0 x 71.9 x 8.75mm, 211g | No significant design change reported |
The gap, if the reporting holds, is the one Apple has drawn every year: the Pro gets the telephoto, the variable aperture, the better chip and the bigger storage ceiling. The standard phone gets the same screen size, two cameras and a price several hundred pounds lower. If a telephoto lens is what you want, no amount of waiting for an iPhone 18 will produce one. Our iPhone 18 Pro page has the full confirmed specification and the first UK contract prices.
iPhone 18e and iPhone Air 2
The iPhone 18 is not expected to arrive alone. Bloomberg's reporting, as relayed by 9to5Mac and MacRumors, groups three phones into the same spring 2027 launch.
iPhone 18e. The successor to the iPhone 17e, which Apple announced on 2 March 2026, released in the UK on 11 March and now sells for £699 with 256GB. MacRumors expects it by March 2027. The only specific specification anyone has offered is memory, and the two analysts involved contradict each other: Ming-Chi Kuo has said 9GB, Jeff Pu has said 12GB. Nothing else about it has been reported in detail.
iPhone Air 2. 9to5Mac reported on 17 June 2026 that Bloomberg expects a second-generation Air in spring 2027 with two specific upgrades: an ultra-wide camera added alongside the existing 48MP rear lens, and improved battery life, though the method was unclear. Those are precisely the two complaints levelled at the first iPhone Air, which currently costs £1,099 at Apple UK for 256GB. MacRumors adds that it will likely use the same 2nm A20 chip and the C2 modem, and has floated a 3,500mAh battery, up from 3,149mAh. The battery figure is an estimate, not an Apple number.
If you are choosing between the spring phones, the shape of the line looks like this: the 18e is the cheap one, the 18 is the mainstream one, and the Air is the thin one with the compromises. None of the three has a date.
Should you wait for the iPhone 18 or buy now?
For most people, buy now. That is not a sales line, it is what the calendar says. Waiting for the iPhone 18 means waiting at least five months, and probably closer to seven, for a phone with no confirmed date, no confirmed price and no confirmed specification, whose most solidly reported upgrade is a better selfie camera. If Apple slips the spring launch, and it has moved iPhone dates before, you are waiting longer still.
The phone to buy instead is usually the iPhone 17, and it is in an unusual position right now. Apple has put its UK price up to £899, but the retailers have not followed. We track 12,912 iPhone 17 deals across UK retailers. The cheapest new SIM-free price is £799, and the cheapest contract with nothing upfront is £35.60 a month over 36 months. That SIM-free figure undercuts Apple's own store by more than £100 for exactly the same phone.
Do the total-cost arithmetic before you sign anything, because the monthly headline hides it. At £34 a month for 36 months you will pay £1,224 over the term, which is roughly £430 more than buying the same phone outright at £790 and putting a SIM-only plan next to it. Our comparison works out the total for every deal so you can sort on it rather than on the monthly figure.
Three cases where waiting is defensible. If your current phone is working and you are not in a hurry, spring costs you nothing to wait for. If you specifically want the 24MP front camera, that is the one upgrade with real reporting behind it. And if you are due an upgrade in February or March anyway, the timing lines up on its own. Everyone else is being asked to wait half a year for a phone Apple has not admitted to.
If you want the newest Apple phone rather than the best value, the iPhone 18 Pro goes on sale on 18 September from £1,199, and the foldable iPhone Duo follows on 23 October.
What we still do not know
- The date. "Spring 2027" is the whole of the reporting. No month, no week, no event invitation.
- The UK price. Nothing has leaked, in pounds or dollars. Every figure in our price table is arithmetic.
- Whether there is a larger model. No Plus or Max version of the standard iPhone 18 has been reported either way.
- Battery capacity and rated life. Apple does not publish capacity anyway, and no video-playback figure has been reported.
- Storage tiers and colours. Nothing reported. The iPhone 17 offers 256GB and 512GB.
- The rear cameras. No change has been reported, which is not the same as a report of no change.
- Memory. 9GB or 12GB, depending on which analyst you believe.
- Whether the smaller Dynamic Island reaches the non-Pro phone. One leaker says yes. Most reporting has kept it to the Pro models.
- UK network availability at launch. Spring iPhones have historically reached EE, Vodafone, Three and O2 quickly, but nothing is announced.
We will update this page as reporting firms up, and it becomes our live comparison of every UK contract, upgrade and SIM-free price the day the iPhone 18 goes on sale. Until then, see what else is on the way on our upcoming phones page, or compare what you can actually buy today on our iPhone 17 deals page.
Sources
- iPhone 18 spring 2027 timing, A20 chip, 24MP front camera, Camera Control and Dynamic Island claims: MacRumors iPhone 18 roundup, updated 28 August 2026.
- The split launch and the standard iPhone 18 being held to spring 2027: MacRumors, "iPhone 18 release schedule", 31 August 2026.
- iPhone 18e timing, and Mark Gurman's spring 2027 grouping, plus the Ming-Chi Kuo and Jeff Pu memory estimates: MacRumors iPhone 18e roundup, 31 July 2026.
- iPhone Air 2 in spring 2027 with an added ultra-wide camera and improved battery: 9to5Mac, "iPhone Air 2 coming next year with two key upgrades", 17 June 2026, citing Bloomberg. Further Air 2 detail: MacRumors iPhone Air roundup, 25 August 2026.
- iPhone 18 Pro announcement, UK pricing, dates and A20 Pro: Apple Newsroom UK, 9 September 2026.
- iPhone 18 Pro display, cameras, battery, storage and dimensions: Apple UK, iPhone 18 Pro technical specifications, checked 13 September 2026.
- iPhone 17 launch price of £799 and 19 September 2025 availability: Apple Newsroom UK, "Apple introduces iPhone 17", 9 September 2025.
- iPhone 17 current UK price of £899, and iPhone 17e at £699 and iPhone Air at £1,099: Apple UK store, iPhone 17, iPhone 17e and iPhone Air, all checked 13 September 2026.
- iPhone Air launch price of £999: Apple Newsroom UK, 9 September 2025.
- iPhone 17 display, ProMotion, brightness, cameras and battery rating: Apple UK, iPhone 17 technical specifications, checked 13 September 2026. Current iPhone 17 deal prices: MyMobiles live deal data.