Every major UK network credit checks pay monthly phone contracts, because the phone is bought on a credit agreement. Vodafone, iD Mobile and Three also check pay monthly SIM-only plans. Vodafone, EE and Three name Experian, Equifax and TransUnion, iD Mobile and BT use Equifax, and Sky uses Equifax and Experian. SMARTY, Lebara and giffgaff sell SIM plans with no credit check.
- A pay monthly phone is a credit agreement, so expect a hard search that other lenders can see.
- Networks use their own scoring. Vodafone says you can fail its check even with a high score from an agency.
- None of the networks we checked offered a soft-search eligibility checker for phone contracts.
- SMARTY, Lebara and giffgaff say their SIM plans need no credit check. Vodafone, Three and iD Mobile point you to pay as you go instead.
- Vodafone has an appeal form and Three will have a person review an automated decision if you ask within 14 days.
Which networks credit check, and which agency do they use?
Every major network we checked runs a credit check before it gives you a phone on a monthly plan. The phone part is a loan, which each network calls something different: a Device Plan (O2, Vodafone), a device credit agreement (EE's Flex Pay), a credit agreement (Sky) or a loan from a partner lender (giffgaff with Klarna, VOXI with PayPal Credit). Your calls, texts and data sit on a separate airtime plan.
MoneyHelper counts mobile phone providers as credit providers when you take a phone contract, but not when you are on pay as you go. The table shows what each network says on its own website. Where a network does not say, we have left it as not stated rather than guess.
| Network | Checks credit on pay monthly contracts? | 30-day SIM-only without a credit check? | Eligibility checker? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vodafone | Yes, for any new pay monthly device or plan | No. Pay monthly plans are checked. Pay as you go Plus has no credit check | None found | Experian, Equifax and TransUnion. Appeal form available |
| EE | Yes, including upgrades and renewals | Not stated | None found | Uses data from Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. Says its search stays on your file for 12 months |
| O2 | Yes. A Device Plan is a loan agreement and is credit checked | Not stated | O2 lists an eligibility checker page, but it did not load when we checked | Privacy policy links to TransUnion, Equifax and Experian notices. Airtime Plan and Device Plan are separate |
| Three | Yes, for Pay Monthly plans | No. Pay Monthly SIM plans are checked. Pay As You Go is offered if you fail | None found | Experian, Equifax or TransUnion. May ask for a refundable deposit |
| iD Mobile | Yes | No. All SIM only plans are credit checked. Pay as you go has no check | None found | Equifax |
| Tesco Mobile | Yes. Pay monthly terms make acceptance subject to a credit check | Not stated | None found | May ask for a refundable deposit, held for 120 days |
| Sky Mobile | Yes, a hard search for each device or accessory credit agreement | Not stated. Sky runs pre-sales checks on every order, including a SIM | None found | Equifax and Experian. One credit check per order |
| giffgaff | Only if you buy a phone on a loan, which Klarna checks | Yes. No credit checks on plans or 18-month contract plans | None found | Klarna runs a hard credit check for phone loans |
| BT Mobile | Yes, you may need to pass one when you order | Not stated | None found | Equifax. May ask for a deposit, refunded after six months |
| SMARTY | Not applicable. SMARTY sells SIM plans, paid upfront | Yes. Rolling monthly plans with no credit check | Not needed | Plans are paid in advance, so SMARTY says it does not need your credit history |
| Lebara | Not applicable for its SIM only deals | Yes. Says no credit checks on its SIM only deals | Not needed | Also sells 12-month SIM plans |
| VOXI | Phones on PayPal Credit are subject to application, status and a credit check | Not stated | None found | 30-day rolling SIM plans. VOXI is a credit broker for PayPal Credit |
Does Vodafone do a credit check, and can you appeal a decision?
Yes. Vodafone runs a credit check when you apply for a new pay monthly device or plan, when you upgrade an EVO Device Plan, and when you ask for a Flexi-upgrade before your minimum term ends. It uses Experian, Equifax and TransUnion, and the check leaves a search footprint on your credit file that other lenders may see.
Vodafone says it uses its own scoring system, separate from the agencies' scores. That means you can fail its check even if an agency gives you a high score. It also needs a UK bank account and a UK address. Jersey, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and the Overseas Territories do not count as the UK.
Sales advisers only see whether you passed or failed, not why. They can tell you if another plan is open to you, for example SIM only instead of a phone on a loan. Vodafone's Pay as you go Plus plans and pay as you go data-only SIMs need no credit check.
You can appeal using Vodafone's credit check appeal form. Vodafone says only a small number of appeals succeed, and it asks you to check your credit report with all three agencies before you apply.
Does iD Mobile do a credit check?
Yes. iD Mobile says an application for a pay monthly plan, handset or SIM only, will probably involve a credit check. It also says all applications for SIM only plans are credit checked. Its pay as you go plans need no credit check.
iD Mobile uses one agency, Equifax. The details you give at checkout go to Equifax, and its data feeds iD's automated decision system. Some applications go to iD's specialist credit checking team for review. If you have a question about the result, iD tells you to contact Equifax directly.
Does O2 do a credit check?
Yes. O2 describes its Device Plan as a loan agreement and says it will run a credit check when you buy a product on one. New customers join subject to status and a credit check. The Device Plan is separate from your Airtime Plan, which covers your calls, texts and data, and you can pay the Device Plan off early at any time.
The O2 help pages we checked do not say which agency O2 uses for a given application. Its privacy policy says a credit search is recorded by the agency and links to the TransUnion, Equifax and Experian information notices.
O2 lets you set a Spend Cap, including a £0 cap, which blocks chargeable use once you run out of allowance. That controls your bill. It does not change the credit decision.
Do EE and Three do a hard credit check?
Yes, both leave a search on your credit file. EE says it uses data from Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, and that the search from a contract application stays on your credit file for 12 months. Its privacy policy says it runs credit and fraud checks before providing a product or service, including upgrades and renewals. EE's Flex Pay, for phones bought with an EE plan, is a device credit agreement that is separate from your airtime plan. EE Finance, for other products, is a loan from Glow, which uses TransUnion data and tells you before it runs a hard check.
Three runs a credit check when you sign up for a Pay Monthly plan. It may use Experian, Equifax or TransUnion, and it says the search footprint may be seen by other lenders. Depending on the result, Three may ask for a deposit. You get it back after 6 bills paid on time if you bought directly from Three, or 12 if you bought through another retailer.
If Three's automated decision goes against you, you can ask for a person to review it. Email credit.checking@contact.three.co.uk or write to Three Credit Operations within 14 days of your application. Three also warns against submitting more orders after a failed check, because failed checks are noted on your account.
Do Tesco Mobile, Sky Mobile, giffgaff and BT Mobile credit check?
Tesco Mobile: yes. Its pay monthly terms say acceptance is subject to a successful credit check. Tesco may ask for a refundable deposit to get you the phone or tariff you chose. It holds the deposit for 120 days and refunds it after 120 days of successful bill payments. You can also cap your bill with a zero bill cap or a safety buffer of up to £100.
Sky Mobile: yes, for devices and accessories. Sky runs pre-sales checks each time you buy a SIM, phone, tablet, laptop or accessory, even if you have bought from Sky before. A device on a credit agreement gets a hard search, one per order, and Sky asks you to confirm you can afford the repayments for the full term. Sky's chosen agencies are Equifax and Experian.
giffgaff: only for phone loans. giffgaff says it runs no credit checks on plans or 18-month contract plans, or when you buy a phone outright. If you spread the cost of a phone, Klarna is the lender and runs a full, hard credit check with an affordability assessment.
BT Mobile: BT says you may need to pass a credit check when you order, and the check is recorded on your credit file. BT uses Equifax. If the result does not meet BT's criteria, it may ask for a deposit and refund it after six months.
How long does a network credit check take?
None of the networks we checked publishes a set time. Most decisions are automated. Vodafone, Three and iD Mobile all describe automated decision systems, and giffgaff says Klarna gives an instant decision.
Some applications take longer. iD Mobile sends some to its specialist credit team. Sky says your order might be referred for further checks and it will tell you straight away if that happens.
While you wait, do not place the same order again or apply to several networks at once. Each application can add another hard search, and MoneyHelper says lots of hard searches in a short time can make lenders see you as higher risk.
Do networks credit check you when you upgrade?
Often, yes, but it depends on the network and on how you upgrade. Vodafone checks when you upgrade an EVO Device Plan or take a Flexi-upgrade early. EE's privacy policy lists upgrades and renewals among the times it runs credit checks. Sky runs pre-sales checks on every purchase, including from existing customers.
O2 is different. It says you will be credit checked if you sign a new contract as part of an upgrade. But O2 Refresh customers can move to a new tariff with a new handset without a credit check, and O2 Switch Up customers do not need one to upgrade either.
If you only want to keep your phone and take a cheaper deal, a SIM only plan may be simpler. On Vodafone, Three and iD Mobile a pay monthly SIM only plan is still credit checked. SMARTY, Lebara and giffgaff plans are not.
Frequently asked questions
How strict is the Vodafone credit check?
Why has my iD Mobile credit check been declined?
Who does O2 use for credit checks?
What should I do if I fail a Three credit check?
Which networks let you check eligibility before a hard search?
Does a network credit check show on my credit file?
Which networks don't credit check for SIM-only?
I only want to check my pay as you go balance. Where do I look?
Sources
- https://www.vodafone.co.uk/privacy/credit-checks - Vodafone: when it credit checks, Experian/Equifax/TransUnion, own scoring system, UK bank account and address, Pay as you go Plus without a check, appeal form
- https://www.idmobile.co.uk/help-and-support/credit-checks-explained - iD Mobile: pay monthly and all SIM only plans credit checked, Equifax, automated decisions, pay as you go without a check
- https://www.o2.co.uk/help/products-and-services/plans-and-tariffs/device-plan - O2: Device Plan is a loan agreement, credit checked, new customers subject to status and credit check
- https://www.o2.co.uk/help/account/upgrading/upgrading-your-device - O2: credit check on a new contract at upgrade; O2 Refresh and Switch Up upgrades without a credit check
- https://www.o2.co.uk/help/products-and-services/plans-and-tariffs/o2-refresh-explained - O2: separate Airtime Plan and Device Plan
- https://www.o2.co.uk/termsandconditions/privacy-policy - O2: credit searches recorded by agencies; links to TransUnion, Equifax and Experian notices
- https://www.o2.co.uk/help/account/billing-and-usage/spend-cap - O2: Spend Cap including a £0 option
- https://www.o2.co.uk/shop/eligibility-checker - O2: eligibility checker page listed in O2's sitemap; returned O2's error page on the check date
- https://ee.co.uk/help/billing-payments/financial-support/credit-files-explained - EE: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion; contract credit search stays on file for 12 months
- https://ee.co.uk/eeprivacycentre/ee-privacy-policy - EE: credit and fraud checks before a product or service, including upgrades or renewals
- https://ee.co.uk/devices/device-credit-agreement - EE: device credit agreement is a loan, separate from the airtime plan
- https://ee.co.uk/help/billing-payments/payment-methods/ee-finance--12--24--36-or-48-month-loans - EE Finance: Glow is the lender, hard credit check with notice, TransUnion data
- https://www.three.co.uk/privacy-safety/checking-credit - Three: credit checks for Pay Monthly, Experian/Equifax/TransUnion, search footprint, human review within 14 days
- https://www.three.co.uk/support/store-support/bills-payments-and-credit-checks - Three: Pay Monthly credit check, Pay As You Go if you fail, don't resubmit orders, 0800 033 8001
- https://www.three.co.uk/support/bills-and-contracts/paying-your-bills/about-credit-check-deposits - Three: deposits refunded after 6 or 12 bills paid on time
- https://www.tescomobile.com/content/dam/tesco-mobile/terms-and-conditions/pay-monthly/Tesco-Mobile-Pay-Monthly-Service-redline-Terms-and-Conditions-January-2026.pdf - Tesco Mobile pay monthly terms: acceptance subject to a successful credit check
- https://www.tescomobile.com/content/dam/tesco-mobile/terms-and-conditions/pay-monthly/refundable-deposits-terms-and-conditions.pdf - Tesco Mobile: refundable deposit held for 120 days
- https://www.tescomobile.com/help/managing-your-account/manage-your-account-online/your-safety-buffer - Tesco Mobile: zero bill cap or safety buffer up to £100
- https://www.sky.com/help/articles/credit-checks-sky-mobile - Sky Mobile: pre-sales checks on every order, hard search for credit agreements, one per order, Equifax and Experian
- https://www.sky.com/help/articles/credit-agreement-sky-mobile - Sky Mobile: credit agreement separate from the monthly plan, affordability confirmation
- https://help.giffgaff.com/en/articles/240756-the-giffgaff-mobile-contract - giffgaff: no credit checks on plans or 18-month contract plans
- https://help.giffgaff.com/en/articles/258295-buying-a-giffgaff-phone-with-a-loan - giffgaff: Klarna phone loans, hard credit check, no check when buying outright
- https://www.bt.com/help/mobile/getting-set-up/learn-about-credit-checks-for-bt-mobile - BT Mobile: credit check recorded on file, Equifax, deposit refunded after six months
- https://smarty.co.uk/no-credit-check-sim - SMARTY: no credit checks on rolling monthly SIM plans paid upfront
- https://www.lebara.co.uk/en/sim-only-deals.html - Lebara: no credit checks on SIM only deals
- https://www.voxi.co.uk/plans - VOXI: 30-day rolling SIM plans; phones on PayPal Credit subject to application, status and credit check
- https://www.moneyhelper.org.uk/en/everyday-money/credit/how-to-check-your-credit-report - MoneyHelper: phone contracts (not pay as you go) involve a credit check, hard vs soft searches, hard searches can stay up to two years, free statutory reports
- https://www.experian.co.uk/consumer/guides/refused-credit.html - Experian: lenders decide, common reasons for refusal
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1974/39/section/157 - Consumer Credit Act 1974 s157: duty to disclose the credit reference agency used
This guide is general information, not financial advice. Phone contracts include credit, and every provider makes its own lending decision.